New Zealander wins Stage 2 at Tour of Utah

Press release Aug. 11 — Jack
Bauer (NZL) of Endura Racing sprinted to his first win on American soil
with a big push in the final 500 meters at Stage Two presented by Adobe
at the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah.

In a photo finish, Elia Viviani
(ITA) of Liquigas-Cannondale came away with second in today’s (Thursday's) exciting
finish and American Jake Keough of United Healthcare Pro Cycling placed

The winners rode the 99.2-mile (159.6 km) rolling course around
Utah Lake in 3 hours and 33 minutes, averaging 27.8 miles per hour. For
the third day of the six-day stage race, Colombian Sergio Henao of
Gobernacion Indeportes Antioquia continues to lead the General
Another Kiwi, Roman Van Uden of PureBlack Racing, captured the XO
Communications Sprint classification jersey today.  Bauer’s Endura
Racing teammate from Australia John Anderson was awarded the Vivint Most
Aggressive Rider jersey.  Ruben Bertogliati (SUI) of Team Type 1-SANOFI
retained the Ski Utah King of the Mountain classification jersey for a
second day and Tejay van Garderen (USA) of HTC-Highroad secured the
Subaru Best Young Rider jersey for a third day.  Salt Lake City resident
Jeff Lauder of BMC Racing Team was awarded the Miller Lite Best Utah
Rider jersey.
“For all of us as a team, it’s been bit of an experiment to see how we
form up in the mountains and high altitude. Obviously a stage win was a
goal so to do it so early in the tour and on a sprint stage is awesome.
 I’ve never raced at altitude before and especially yesterday’s stage
and the prologue that was a whole new thing for me,” said Bauer, who won
today’s stage in Provo near the recognizable landmarks of Brigham Young
University and Mount Timpanogos on the Wasatch Mountain Range.
“Obviously a win was a goal, but to get one so early in the tour –
especially on a sprint day – was exciting.”
There were no changes for top riders in the G.C., with Henao continuing
his lead over teammate Oscar Sevilla (ESP) by seven seconds and staying
ahead of the 2010 defending champion Levi Leipheimer (USA) of Team
RadioShack by 13 seconds.  Other notable riders include 2009 Tour of
Utah champion Francisco Mancebo of in sixth place on
G.C., George Hincapie (USA) of BMC Racing Team in 22nd position and Utah-native David Zabriskie of Garmin-Cervelo in 59th. Of 115 riders who started today’s stage 112 riders finished. 

Top 10 overall

1. Sergio Luis Henao (Col) Gobernacion De Antioquia-Indeportes Antioquia
2. Oscar Sevilla (ESP) Gobernacion De antioquia-Indeportes Atnioquia — 7 seconds
3. Levi Leipheiver (USA) Radio Shack — 13 seconds
4. Jesse Anthony (USA) Kelly Benefit — 18 seconds
5. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Radioshack — 21 seconds
6. Francisco Mancebo (ESP) — 2:43
7. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) HTC Highroad — 2:46
8. Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin-Cervelo — 2:48
9. Christian Vande Velde (USA) Garmin Cervelo — 2:50
10. Cesar Augusto (Col) — 2:53

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.