«

»

A slippery ride to Olympic gold in women’s road race

Facebook Twitter More...

After creating a four-woman breakaway with about 25 miles to go in the women’s Olympic road race, Marianne Vos took a three-way sprint finish to win a gold medal for The Netherlands on Sunday.

Marianne Vos, The Netherlands

The 87-mile course was washed in rain showers several times during the 3-hour 35-minute road race, making for slick riding.  American favorite Kristin Armstrong was among those involved in crashes during the race.

Sunday’s victory marked the second gold medal for Vos, 25, who won the gold medal in the points race in track cycling at the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

The other two women in the breakaway won silver — Elizabeth Armitstead (Great Britain) — and bronze — Olga Zabelinskaya (Russia).

The fourth member of that breakaway, US cyclist Shelly Olds, suffered a heart-breaking flat tire on the run-in to London and was not a factor.


Medals

Gold — Marianne Vos, The Netherlands

Silver — Elizabeth Armitstead, Great Britain

Bronze — Olga Zabelinkskaya, Russia

US finishers

7. Shelly Olds — 27 seconds behind

24. Evelyn Stevens — 27 seconds

35. Kristin Armstrong — 47 seconds

36. Amber Neben — 51 seconds

Time trial

Next on tap for cycling is the women’s and men’s individual time trial on Wednesday morning. The women’s event starts at 12:30 p.m. (7:30 a.m. ET, 4:30 a.m. PT) and the men’s event starts at 2:15 p.m. (9:15 a.m. ET and 6:15 a.m. PT).

Tips on watching the Olympic cycling events

Permanent link to this article: http://www.bikingbis.com/2012/07/29/a-slippery-ride-to-olympic-gold-in-womens-road-race/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>