2011 Tour of California releasing daily stage routes

Facebook Twitter More...

Organizers of the Amgen Tour of California bicycle race (May 15-22) are releasing the route maps and other daily details for the 8-stage race in three installments this week.

Course descriptions, maps, profiles and summary videos for Stages 1, 2, and 3 were released Wednesday. Stages 4, 5, and 6 will be released on Thursday, and the concluding Stages 7 and 8 go online on Friday.

Estimated start and finish times and tourism info from the host cities is included.

The Tour, now in its 6th year, announced the host cities back in October 2010. Since then, organizers have been fine-tuning the routes.

The stages and links to the daily stage information when it becomes available (Don't bother trying the link ahead of the release schedule; you'll get “page not found”):

Feb. 9th release

Stage 1: May 15 — South Lake Tahoe to Northstar at Tahoe, North Lake Tahoe, 118.7 miles;

Stage 2: May 16 — Squaw Valley USA at North Lake Tahoe to Sacramento, 133.2 miles;

Stage 3: May 17 — Auburn to Modesto, 121.9 miles;

Feb. 10th release

Stage 4: May 18 — Livermore to San Jose, 81.8 miles;

Stage 5: May 19 — Seaside to Paso Robles, 138.9 miles;

Stage 6: May 20 — Individual time trial at Solvang, 15 miles;

Feb. 11th release

Stage 7: May 21 — Claremont to Mount Baldy, 75.8 miles;

Stage 8: May 22 — Santa Clarita to Thousand Oaks, 80.2 miles.



Permanent link to this article: https://www.bikingbis.com/2011/02/09/2011-tour-of-california-releasing-daily-stage-routes/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.