Phinney and Hammer among 19 named to Olympic Track long teams

Facebook Twitter More...

Taylor Phinney and Sarah Hammer are among the 19 cyclists named to the “long team” for track cycling at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

The final racers who will represent the US at the track cycling events will be chosen from the pool of 11 women and 8 men by USA Cycling.

Two western Washington cyclists made the women's squad: Jennie Reed of Seattle and Tela Crane of Sammamish.The track cycling events will be held in a new Velodrome, built specifically for the London Olympics, from August 2 through 7. Cyclists will be competing for 10 Olympics gold medals at the Velodrome.

USA Cycling earlier announced the men's and women's long team for mountain biking and women's road race. BMX long teams will be announced next year, and the men's road race squad will be chosen based on early season standings.

Phinney, of Boulder, Colorado, is a 2-time Pursuit world champion and 2010 world championship bronze winner in the Omnium. He's the son of Davis Phinney and Connie Carpenter-Phinney, both Olympic gold medalists in cycling. Phinney also will make a bid to join the men's road race squad.

Hammer, of Temecula, California, received an automatic nomination to the women's squad. She placed 2nd in the women's omnium at the 2011 UCI Track World Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, and she was omniums at the 2011 UCI Track World Cup events in England and Colombia.

Here's the full list of men's and women's long team members released on Thursday by USA Cycling (details about the cyclists are on the website):

Men's long team:

Michael Blatchford, Cypress, Calif.
Bobby Lea, Topton, Pa.
Kevin Mansker, Long Beach, Calif.
Giddeon Massie, Cypress, Calif.
T.J. Mathieson, Redondo Beach, Calif.
Taylor Phinney, Boulder, Colo.
Dean Tracy, Portland, Ore.
Jimmy Watkins, Bakersfield, Calif.

Women's long team

Dotsie Bauch, Irvine, Calif.
Elizabeth Carlson, Jim Thorpe, Pa.
Tela Crane, Sammamish, Wash.
Dana Feiss, Telford, Pa.
Madalyn Godby, Louisville, Colo.
Sarah Hammer, Temecula, Calif.
Cari Higgins, Boulder, Colo.
Jennie Reed, Seattle, Wash.
Lauren Tamayo, Asheville, N.C.
Jennifer Valente, San Diego, Calif.
Cristin Walker, Houston, Texas

Congratulations to them all.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.