Tour of California announces 16 teams

Facebook Twitter More...

Organizers named the 16 teams that will compete in the 7th annual Amgen Tour of California that rolls out on May 13-20 this year.

Eight teams represent the UCI Pro Teams that compete at the most elite levels. They include RadioShack-Nissan-Trek, home to last year’s winner Chris Horner of Bend, Oregon. The team of 3-time winner Levi Leipheimer (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) also will be on hand.

Four Professional Continental Teams and four Continental Teams also will attend.

It’s important to remember that this is the team announcement; the team squads will be named later.

When executive director Kristin Bachochin says in a press release that the teams “represent the most prestigious field of talent ever to compete in our race,” she has no idea whether the top cyclists will appear. Those teams also will have to field squads for the Giro d’Italia, which runs May 5 – 27.

Here are the teams:

UCI Pro Teams
BMC Racing (USA)
Rabobank Cycling (NED)
Garmin-Barracuda (USA)
RadioShack-Nissan-Trek (LUX)
Liquigas-Cannondale (ITA)
Omega Pharma-QuickStep (BEL)
AG2R (France)
GreenEDGE Cycling (AUS)

UCI Professional Continental Teams
Team Spidertech Powered by C10 (CAN)
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling (USA)
Project 1t4i (NED)
Colombia-Coldeportes (COL)

UCI Continental Teams
Team Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)
Bissell Pro Cycling (USA)
Team Exergy (USA)
Bontrager Livestrong Team (USA)

Check the Tour of California category for more details of this year’s host cities and route.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.