New leader at Giro d’Italia after team time trial

Facebook Twitter More...

Garmin-Barracuda in TTT mode

In case you didn’t get the memo, the Garmin-Barracuda cycling team pretty much owns the team time trial event at the Giro d’Italia.

They won the event in 2008, propelling American cyclist Christian Vande Velde into the maglia rosa. And they won it again this morning, pushing Lithuanian cyclist Ramunas Navardauskas to the overall lead.

Wenatchee, Washington’s Tyler Farrar, the team’s sprinter, found himself in 2nd place overall after the race. Vande Velde rose to 9th place overall.

BMC Racing’s Taylor Phinney, who became only the third American to earn the pink jersey when he won the opening individual time trial on Saturday, lost ground to 5th place overall, 13 seconds behind the leader.

Phinney had crashed in the closing meters of Stage 3 in Denmark on Monday, injuring his ankle.

The peloton took off Tuesday to relocate the remainder of the race to Italy. In spite of the short recovery time, he admitted to having a “bad day” today and thanked his teammates for slowing down at times so he wouldn’t drop off the back of the pack.

While it’s unfortunate that Phinney fell off pace and isn’t recovering as quickly as he wanted, he did achieve what he set out to do — earn the maglia rosa. At only 21 years old, he’ll have plenty of more opportunities to wear that jersey in his career.

Overall, the BMC team finished in 10th place, 31 seconds by Garmin.

Top 10 overall

1. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lith) Garmin

2. Tyler Farrer (US) Garmin – 10 seconds behind

3. Robert Hunter (South Africa) Garmin – 10 seconds

4. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada) Garmin – 11 seconds

5. Taylor Phinney (US)  BMC – 13 seconds

6. Manuele Boaro (Ita) Saxo Bank – 19 seconds

7. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky – 21 seconds

8. Sebastien Rosseler (Belgium) Garmin – 25 seconds

9. Christian Vande Velde (US) Garmin – 26 seconds

10. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain) Katusha – 30 seconds

More results at

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.