More bad news for Garmin; Danielson out, Hesjedal loses time at Tour de France

Facebook Twitter More...

Tom Danielson

An arrow-straight, level stretch of French road spelled doom for Garmin-Sharp’s chances at the Tour de France as a huge crash splintered the peloton about 15 miles from the finish of Stage 6 on Friday.

Garmin’s Tom Danielson (USA) went down hard for the second time in this year’s Tour. Already suffering from a separated shoulder, he withdrew from the race. Three other cyclists abandoned due to the crash also.

Meanwhile, the team’s other contender for the General Classification, British Columbia’s Ryder Hesjedal, got caught behind the crash and lost time over 13 minutes.

When the day started, he was sitting in 9th place, 18 seconds behind the leader. Now he’s in 108 place, 13:38 out of first place.

Perhaps reacting to the trauma to his team, David Zabriskie and three other cyclists attacked in the closing kilometers, and the Utah native sprinted away from them about 1 1/2 miles from the finish. The peloton caught him about a mile from the finish, but he was awarded the “most combative” cyclist of the stage.

Frank Schleck, the team leader for RadioShack, also lost serious time, dropping to 37th place at 2:53 behind. Meanwhile, his teammate Fabian Cancellara, must have been in the front of the peloton as he missed the crash and successfully defended the yellow jersey for another day.

Winning the stage was Peter Sagan (Liquigas), his third of this year’s Tour de France.

Top 10 overall

2. GBR  WIGGINS Bradley 101 SKY PROCYCLING 29h 22′ 43” + 00′ 07”
3. FRA  CHAVANEL Sylvain 192 OMEGA PHARMA-QUICK STEP 29h 22′ 43” + 00′ 07”
4. USA  VAN GARDEREN Tejay 9 BMC RACING TEAM 29h 22′ 46” + 00′ 10”
5. RUS  MENCHOV Denis 131 KATUSHA TEAM 29h 22′ 49” + 00′ 13”
6. AUS   EVANS Cadel 1 BMC RACING TEAM 29h 22′ 53” + 00′ 17”
7. ITA  NIBALI Vincenzo 51 LIQUIGAS-CANNONDALE 29h 22′ 54” + 00′ 18”
8. SVK  SAGAN Peter 57 LIQUIGAS-CANNONDALE 29h 22′ 55” + 00′ 19”
9. GER  KLÖDEN Andréas 15 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 29h 22′ 55” + 00′ 19”
10. BEL  MONFORT Maxime 16 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 29h 22′ 58” + 00′ 22”

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.